A Night I’ll Remember

You may have read about my YouTube drama.

Short version: I made a video for a song by the death-metal band Suffocation and uploaded it to YouTube. The video received over 3,000,000 views until YouTube removed it, via Warner Music complaint, for copyright infringement.  The full story is here.

I’m happy to report that not only has the issue been resolved and the video is back on YouTube, but one of the more awesome experiences of my life occured because of it.

Background: After YouTube removed the video, I got in touch with the band’s management: Extreme Music Group.  Their manager told me that they approve of the video and want it back online. I also reached out to Roadrunner Records (label), Warner Music (distribution) and YouTube — they were all surprisingly nice and cooperative.

But the coolest thing happened a couple of weeks ago.  Suffocation was on tour and playing a show here in San Francisco.  A drumming magazine, Sick Drummer, heard about my YouTube story and contacted me.  Somehow they hooked up a free ticket and backstage pass for me at the concert.

The show was great.  Granted, Suffocation isn’t a big as Ozzy or anything, but they’re one of the biggest death-metal bands out there, and there were well over 1,000 people at the show.  Suffocation has been around for more than 20 years and I’ve been a big fan for almost that long — since I was 14.

So I get to the show.  I watch their set.  They rock.  I’m wondering what to do with the backstage pass.  I figure it’s kind of embarassing for some random guy to go backstage like I’m a  groupie or something.  But I figure ‘what the hell’ and when the band gets off stage, I head to the backstage door.  The bouncer shines a flashlight on my pass and lets me in.

The first person I see is Suffocation’s bass player, Derek Boyer.  I approach him awkwardly, “Umm, hi. I made a YouTube video for one of your songs…”

Almost immediately, Derek was like “Dude I thought you looked familliar!”  He called over to the rest of his bandmates, all hidden around other parts of the backstage area.  “Guys!  Get over here!  It’s the YouTube guy! Here’s here!”

They all came out.  Terrance Hobbs, a legendary guitar player said to me, “You have no idea how many times we’ve watched that video!”

One of the other band members shouted, “Can we get a picture with you??”

It was surreal.  Here’s a band I’d been worshipping since  I was a high school freshman.  And here they are, asking to take pictures with me.  It was insane.  And so fun.

We chatted for a while about this and that.  Each member was cooler than the next.  Mike Smith, their drummer and major influence of mine, is famously quiet and was sort of subdued, “Cool man… glad we could influence you.”  I chatted with Frank, Suffocation’s singer, about a show of their I saw in Maryland almost 20 years ago — he remembered who else was on the bill!

They had a lot of questions for me.  They wanted to know the full story with the video, why it disappeared and how it got back online. Later that night I hung out a lot more with Terrance and Guy Marchais, their other guitar player. Terrance gave me a copy of their newest CD and Guy gave me some “Suffocation”-branded guitar pics.

All in all, was a night to remember.  The backstage picture is below.

suffocation

15 Responses to “A Night I’ll Remember”


  1. 1 findbetterwork.com July 17, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I am amazed you can get laid, chicks don’t dig that kind of music man. You need some old Bollywood music from the 50’s and 60’s in your life. Light up some incense and groove to that. Chicks will just be knocking at your door.

  2. 2 Nash July 18, 2009 at 1:36 am

    Awesome experience dude!

  3. 3 Michael July 18, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Great post, Pud!

    That was a great experience you had…thank you for sharing it.

    Very happy to see the video back up on YouTube. Awesome.

    Rock on, Pud!

    Michael

  4. 4 Steen July 18, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Way to go Pud! An incredible experience for you. :o) I am not much into that kind of music but you deserve appraisal for telling a fantastic story on your blog.

  5. 5 Mrs. Stone July 18, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I’d totally bang pud. Let’s get it on!!! Pound me pud!

  6. 6 Mike July 18, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Hey Pud!

    That Rocks! (no pun intended).

    How great to finally meet some of your childhood heroes.

    Rock on!

    Mike

  7. 7 Michael July 18, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Very cool post about Suffocation.

    As for the YouTube video, a similar thing happened with my Jamie Lee Curtis “Aquarium” spot I did for Hitachi. It’s there. It’s not there. It’s there. It’s not there. It’s there.

    Hey, when are you going to have your own branded give-away crap? Maybe you should start a contest?

  8. 8 John July 21, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Findbetterwork.com: dude, you are so right…I play in a death metal band myself, and I can confirm that I get ZERO pussy from that…sucks, I need to join a glam metal band, it seems glam is making a comeback!
    However, I do manage to get laid shitloads, and that’s all due to my bright decision to move to Paris from San Diego, vive la chatte!!!!!
    Cool story, hope the new Suffo is as good as the last one…

    Later mofos!

  9. 9 Noah October 16, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    That is the most awesome story I have heard this year! Way to f*cking go! It’s so frustrating that the default reaction of the record industry is to try and limit our rights as music fans. Thankfully the guys in Suffocation are so far-superior than that. Oh, and nice drumming btw 😉

  10. 10 NegronicOne October 16, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Pud, I love that video and Suffocation, rock on dude!

  11. 11 Puerkito October 17, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Crazy story… The kind I dream of! I love Suffocation too, and I saw your video on YouTube a while back – found it funny and really cool! Didn’t know the rest of the story until today. Wow.

  12. 12 Will January 22, 2010 at 1:12 am

    Very nice! Years ago I used to read F’edCompany, and now you are local? And you like death metal? This is all too nuts! BTW burrito man, I’m telling you get up to La Pinata and try the Super Famoso burrito – its the best wet burrito ever.

    http://www.lapinata.com
    2699 Merced Street
    San Leandro, CA 94577-4214
    (510) 352-8901

  13. 14 Helpful Guy September 9, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    It would have been even moar awesome in an evil fish crypt monster costume. But…when do you get to sit in?


  1. 1 Blast beating his way back « waiting for earthquakes Trackback on January 17, 2010 at 10:09 am

Leave a comment