Record Label Squashes Popular Music Video

Artist: Suffocation
Track: Infecting the Crypts

I am a huge fan of Suffocation and have been air-drumming this song since the early 90’s. I put a video of me doing it on YouTube and it quickly gained over 3.5 million views. Thousands (millions?) of people have discovered Suffocation’s music because of this video.

Today I noticed that the video has been taken down by YouTube because of a copyright infringement claim by WMG (dead YouTube link here). My guess is the audio was detected by a software program and the video was automatically removed without manual review.

I’m proud of the video. And I’ve heard that the band likes it too. I think it’s in the label’s best interest to keep this video online. If they hired someone to make a music video for this song, it probably wouldn’t have received so many views.

My idea: Either (1) give me a license to use the song, or (2) I am happy to sign away the rights to this video to the band/label/whoever, at no cost. Consider it your music video.

I’m just a fan. I also consider myself the director and performer in what is arguably the most popular death metal music video in history! Lets keep it online. If you know anyone involved with WMG, Roadrunner Records, Suffocation, or the music industry in general, please forward this page to them.

Philip Kaplan

PS- The video embedded above was just uploaded to DailyMotion.  If they remove it, also try checking herehere, and here. But I’d rather the label embrace the video so I don’t have to go sneaking around from site to site.

PPS- If you like this video or want to get in contact with me, friend me on Facebook or Follow me on Twitter at twitter.com/pud

PPPS- Here is the band’s biggest official music video.  It has only been viewed 315,000 times. And I assume many of those views are because people saw my video and looked at the related videos.

UPDATE: It’s back!

14 Responses to “Record Label Squashes Popular Music Video”


  1. 1 Valentín VN March 6, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Hey, Pud!

    I found you via this video, sometime ago. I was looking for drummers performing on their TD-10, because I own one of those and I was looking for some hardrocking drumming. Then I found your video and I was really hooked. From this to following your blog and guessing if Twitter is so cool to have one.

    Then I suscribed to your YouTube Channel and couldn’t find your video, so I searched for it and there it was, at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iINOMgNtO7A&feature=channel_page
    It was called Death Metal at the Office.

    So someone has taken your video and it is still at YouTube. This robots that you mentioned aren’t that intelligent.

    I hope to see your video back at your Channel anytime soon!!

  2. 2 Jimbo March 6, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    My favorite thing about this video has always been your goofy grin at the end. Makes me laugh every time!

  3. 3 Ahren March 6, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    That sucks. I was searching YouTube for drum videos a while back and that’s how I found you and your blog and have been following you ever since.

    Also bogus, is the fact that YouTube has robots that will scan the audio for copyrighted tunes and then disable the audio, leaving the video intact. While that would be shitty, it would still be slightly less assholish than pulling down the whole video.

    Here’s hoping the label comes to their senses.

  4. 4 fullmetalgerbil March 7, 2009 at 3:18 am

    d00d, yer air drumbing kicks ass!
    It must be WMG who are really behind pulling the video, I don’t see Roadrunner as a label who would do that and I bet Suffocation did get a kick out of your clip.
    Well, all the more reason to pirate major label music cuz they’re all a bunch of dix anyways.

  5. 5 Adronus March 7, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I remember seeing this video on youtube some time back. Sucks that they took it down, but if it’s necessary then just keep posting it in different places, man.
    Your face is so completely metal at certain parts – one of the reasons I loved the vid.

    Keep it up.

    Peace.

    CB

  6. 6 thespiritdog March 7, 2009 at 4:55 am

    Hello Pud,

    I think WMG is a little angry with youtube. I found this if you haven’t already seen it.

    http://www.411mania.com/music/news/98516/Neil-Young-Defends-Warner-Music-In-War-With-YouTube.htm

    Al

  7. 7 Rob Lord March 7, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Try writing the lyrics on your hand or all over your body — that seems to work.

  8. 9 Joann Gullo July 17, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    This situation has been resolved. I (Extreme Management Group – Suffocation’s management company) communicated with office drummer and we were able to send YouTube a letter authorizing the use of this video. So all can sleep tight 🙂

  9. 10 Tomasz Mazur July 18, 2009 at 11:27 am

    This video rocks! I was 15 when I heard “Effigy of The Forgotten” first time. This album stil kick ass! You air-drumming too!

  10. 11 positive affirmation December 24, 2010 at 9:24 am

    when i watch this video.., i was amaze., i want to learn this thing.

  11. 12 Susanne July 19, 2013 at 8:37 am

    I love the knowledge on your site. Thanks.


  1. 1 Is Air-Drumming Illegal? Trackback on March 29, 2009 at 2:10 am
  2. 2 A Night I’ll Remember « Ask Pud Trackback on July 17, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

