Motley Crue at Shoreline Amphitheatre

The first concert I ever went to was Motley Crue in 1989 when I was 13 years old in Maryland. I had shitty seats in the back of the stadium, the sound quality sucked and I could barely see the stage.

But it was still awesome and ranks among the top memories of my teenage years.

Today I relived that memory but from 2nd row center. omg omg.

It’s a little nerve-wracking being that close — you’re almost at eye-level with the performers. You dance for fear of insulting them. You’re basically staring at each other the whole night. It’s oddly personal.

But soooo fucking awesome.

stage

Here are some pictures I took with my iPhone.

Vince Neil:

Vince Neil

Vince Neil w/ guitar singing “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)”

vince_acoustic

Nikki Sixx:

nikki

Nikki Sixx and Mick Mars:

nikki_and_mick

Tommy Lee (away from the drum set preparing for his famed (Tit E. Cam):

tommy

Me:

pk_and_vince

Al:

al_and_vince

Here’s a shot of Josh Todd from the opening band, Buckcherry:

buckcherry_vocals

Keith Nelson from Buckcherry (opening band):

buckcherry_guitar

Here’s a picture I found on Flickr (here) from a different view. I’m pretty sure the arms reaching out toward Vince Neil belong to me. Okay after seeing this, those long arms are definitely mine.

from_flickr

Bonus: Me and Vince Neil when I met him briefly in Las Vegas a few years ago:


14 Responses to “Motley Crue at Shoreline Amphitheatre”


  1. 1 BONES SIKKIWUN August 7, 2008 at 7:09 am

    THANKS FOR SHARING!!!!
    LOVE THE PICS!!!!

  2. 2 crazydaisy August 7, 2008 at 8:03 am

    Awesome pics – you had great seats which allowed for great shots!! Thanks

  3. 3 Zeitman August 7, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Great Crue stuff, Pud. I saw Motley in Seattle a few years back, when they opened for the Stones. 3rd row center (almost as close as you). Tommy and Sixx cracked open a big bottle of Jager, then pitched it into the crowd. My buddy and I were the first to get a pop. And that was all before the Stones hit the stage. Totally killer night.

  4. 4 Mark August 7, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Couldn’t agree more man…I’s funny, I saw them in ’89 too (I think I was 12?) in Oakland, back of the stadium like you and it changed me lol. Last nite I was 8th row back (Nikki’s side) and it was fucking FANTASTIC. Great pics. I got some too, just gotta grab the camera from my buddy!

  5. 5 tiffany August 7, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Awesome pics! I was there but sat too far away to get any good pictures! My ears are still ringing from last night!

  6. 6 ROKKEN TO DOKKEN August 7, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    I am so friggin jealous!!!

  7. 7 V August 8, 2008 at 5:27 am

    I hate you so much now.

  8. 8 Seth August 8, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Saw Crue at Nissan Pavilion in Virginia two years ago. Wife was 8 mos. preggers with current son. I’m 100% convinced that show affected his personality and musical interests to this day. Check out:

    http://www.seth.org/jacob/2008/07/rock-n-roll-parts-i-ii/

  9. 10 Kevin August 8, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    These are awesome pictures.
    Kevin
    http://www.carboyfilms.com

  10. 11 John August 20, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks again for emailing me the pics! I was sitting right behind you in row 3! I can’t believe I scored these tix last minute and the broker was practically giving them away! Sure beats my original seats which were “way back” in row 13!

  11. 12 SkyVixxen September 2, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    WOW…Great pictures! You’ve got some loooong arms Pud!

  12. 13 Barak October 10, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Awesome!!! I love Motley, I wish I could catch a concert sometime… Even with crappy seats.

  13. 14 Aaron Kaplan January 3, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Pud,

    I was at that same show in ’89! I was actually about 15 rows up, stage left. Great show and great memories.


Leave a Reply

