Programming

I admit it, I wrote my first PHP program tonight.

I’ve been programming since I was around 12 (i’m 32 now). In high school I used Pascal. In college I used C. My first job out of college was programming in Live Wire (server-side Javascript – wow, it doesn’t even have a wikipedia page… but it is mentioned in the disambiguation) and Visual Basic. Then in 1996 I started using ColdFusion.

I continued programming in ColdFusion to this day, even though it’s kind of considered an outdated and amateur programming language (even though MySpace was originally developed with it). I still rock Visual Basic from time to time for Windows (non-Web) programming. And of course lots of Javascript.

Anyway, I just installed this new blog software, which is PHP-only. So I figured I’d get with the 21st century and learn PHP so I can customize it. Here’s my first PHP program: Ask me anything.

Maybe in 10 years I’ll learn Ruby on Rails… (2008’s hot programming language)

Oh yeah – in keeping with my tradition of weird programming environments (like ColdFusion), Pud.com now runs on a “WAMP” server: Windows, Apache, MySql, PHP. Most programmers will find this strange, as they are used to “LAMP” (Linux…and so on).

Fun.

I also know Flash, sort of. 😉

13 Responses to “Programming”


  1. 1 David April 17, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Hello Pud, you did not list: Politics!?

  2. 2 dc April 18, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Thats not a program. It’s called a script. SFO.

  3. 3 baseball April 18, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    I thought you wrote fuckedcompany.com in coldfusion… but then rewrote it in PHP back in 2000. How can this be your first PHP program?

  4. 4 SIGEPJEDI April 18, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Your citing myspace as a reference to Cold Fusion programming seriously shows your skill level. Im not even going to touch “outdated and amateur programming language”.

  5. 5 Pud April 18, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    #3 baseball – someone helped me with that.

    #4 sigepjedi – touché I suppose. Still, PHP and ColdFusion are basically the same. CF mostly gets a bad rap because it’s so easy to use, that it’s popular with amateurs, who then write crappy code.

  6. 6 Clay April 19, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Ahhhh, the good old days of CF in the Hamilton building. For as much crap as I get for being a fan of CF, it seems funny to me that our most successful, inexpensive sites have been in CF to this date. Now, my clients want to buy a bunch of COTs tools, pay to get them integrated in a J2EE environment, slap in some expensive ETL tool and spend millions on unsophisticated workflows and processes we could have knocked out in a couple of months in CF. But hey, we’re “real” programmers now!

  7. 7 dude April 21, 2008 at 3:22 am

    quit pulling your pud and get mobog back up

  8. 8 FCFAN April 22, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Pud,

    Why not address Bob’s question concerning FuckedCompany? Dude, FC was amazing – and you know it. BRING IT BACK IN ALL ITS GLORY. As creator, lord & master, you have the means and ability to do so.

  9. 9 Pud April 23, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    #7 dude – Hmm.. okay.

    #8 FCFAN – Hmm.. not now.

  10. 10 Thom June 19, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Dude, RoR was the “It” language last year. It’s all about Python going 3.0!

    No, really, in terms of languages, you should be looking at Scala now and, in 10 years, you’re right, Ruby as a programming language (and underlying vm) won’t suck ass anymore, memory- and performance-wise.

  11. 11 Slydell June 23, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I’ve never looked at ColdFusion thus I didnt know until now that its easy or said to be easy…Imma look at it later.

  12. 12 nate July 7, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    There’s no LiveWire page because everyone who used it has put that sad fact in the same memory bin as “saw my parents fucking.” Thanks for dredging it up!

  13. 13 Christopher Walker July 8, 2008 at 10:33 am

    ColdFusion 8 has added a whole level of legitamacy with the OOP crowd. Throw in a little Flex and wire your C programs as DLLs using CFX and you are one bad mofo in my opinion.

    By the way I miss F’d Company dot com.


Leave a Reply

