Orthodox atheists

Dear Pud,

I have a few friends who are atheist. They’re great people and I have a lot of fun hanging out with them.

But my Mom thinks that non-religious people are infidels. She’s upset that I hang out with them, and was even more upset when I told her I was joining a band with them.

Should I listen to my mom and ditch them? Or should I tell her to mind her own business?

Thanks,
Brian
Age undisclosed
USA

Brian,

Religion is faith. And faith is believing something without proof.

Therefore. anyone who firmly believes anything relating to the existence or absence of God, is religious — since there’s no proof either way.

So tell your Mom that your friends are just as religious as she is.

Rock on,
Pud

13 Responses to “Orthodox atheists”


  1. 1 Whitey January 8, 2008 at 6:48 am

    Dear Pud,
    What happened to January 6th? And why was your post for January 7th written on the 8th?

  2. 2 Anonymous January 9, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    athiesm is a religion like NOT collecting stamps is a hobby…

  3. 3 pyok January 10, 2008 at 3:11 am

    It’s still a religion.

    Like Pud said, it’s basically believing something you can’t prove.

  4. 4 Anonymous January 10, 2008 at 4:51 am

    it is not “religious” to believe the sun will come up tomorrow, that gravity indeed works, or that you will some day die.

    by your definition, most things are “religion”, since you can split hairs for eons proving something is not provable.

    religion is the giving up of logic, reason, and the scientific method, for the sake of either laziness or lack of curiosity.

    you fail.

  5. 5 Anonymous January 13, 2008 at 12:42 am

    I call myself “agnostic” if someone really wants a word. Whether this is a subset of “atheist” is not universally agreed upon.

    You would have to ask the actual people involved if they “believe god does not exist” or simply don’t “believe” either way.

    I don’t know of many who specifically state that there can’t be a god, my odds are Pud is wrong on this one.

  6. 6 Anonymous January 13, 2008 at 12:52 am

    pyok said…
    “It’s still a religion.”

    No. Being a “deist” does not necessarily make you religious either. Believing there is/isn’t a god is a level seperate from believing specific individuals on Earth are delivering his message, following religious rules, etc.

    There aren’t any religions under the category of atheism, not even for the people who faithfully insist a god can’t exist.

  7. 7 Anonymous January 15, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Hell-o!
    So you are Atheists, ok with me you turn your back on God which is supreme.
    Keep playing in the band, Not everone is or can be involved in a band, believe me, but Iam a bandmember since -94, but if your ambition is burning, don’t let your mom print in that you are a sort of infidel to the faith.

    Refards
    /Judas

  8. 8 Phob January 17, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    Lack of evidence is evidence of the lack. I’m an atheist with respect to unicorns… does that mean I’m religious? I don’t know that there aren’t unicorns.
    The answer is, of course, no I’m not religious because I don’t believe in unicorns.

    Similarly, atheism is not a religion, it is the lack of religion.

  9. 9 Anonymous January 17, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    True faith is more about knowledge without proof than about belief (or unbelief) without proof. Assuming by the way he worded his question that Brian is not an atheist, I would advise him to continue hanging with his friends — and to reason with his mom that his hanging with the atheists may be the closest thing to religious influence that they have right now (might even be true).

  10. 10 Anonymous February 1, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Atheism — the religion of not having a religion to some people. No-god-ism to others.

    There are some no-god-ists that are also anti-religion.

    Add another level to that and there are anti-theists. So an anti-theist may be an atheist, but an atheist may not be an anti-theist.

    I agree that if they developed codes and rules for their belief structure, they could get tax-exempt status like any religion. It worked for scientology.

  11. 11 dcart March 27, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    Absence of faith is not faith. You are wrong by definition.

  12. 12 Anonymous March 31, 2008 at 3:26 am

    Organized religion is the root of all evil.
    The great American Southwest Poet, Edward Abbey once said, “I once sat on a mesa above the Rio Grande for three days and nights, trying to have a vision. I got hungry and saw God in the form of a beef pie.”

  13. 13 DW August 14, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    I do not believe that it is possible to prove that any gods exist and therefore I do not believe that any gods exist. I would change my stance if it were possible to prove or disprove the existence of such a religious figure, but I do not believe it to be possible. For all we know, we could be some kid’s science fair experiment that’s been forgotten about in a closet in some much larger world. We don’t know and I don’t believe it to be possible to know. I don’t believe that even the appearance of aliens or the destruction of Earth would aid in proving this. Then again, I’m not sure what the true definition of “god” is, which is a bit ignostic. Who knows? Not me. And until I do, I won’t believe it.

    In addition, I do not approve of Christianity in the form practiced today or from what I’ve heard about how it was practiced in the past. I do not approve of forced beliefs at birth which I equate to brainwashing and social pressure. I do not approve of the use of guilt and fear. I do not approve of the common (ill)logical arguments presented for the reasons to believe in Christianity. I do not approve of the automatic assignment of credit to the Christian god (or any other deity) of things we do not completely understand. I do not believe in ghosts nor do I believe in heaven or hell. I believe that when we die, we return to the state that we were in before we were born: non-existence.


Leave a Reply

