Macs are for short people

So I just got back from the Apple store. After approximately 12 hours of MacBook Pro ownership, I had to return it.

The problem is that the lid only opens barely past 90 degrees. Unfortunately, this means that when the computer is open, the screen is pointing at my chest — not my eyes.

If you’re using a laptop right now, close the lid to 90 degrees and you can see how annoying it is. You’re looking at it indirectly, and the LCD becomes faded and washed-out from the viewing angle. So you basically have to crouch down to use it.

I’m 6’4″ and figured maybe it’s just because I’m too tall. But I did a search online, and apparently there are many people with the same problem. At almost any height, it’s practically impossible to use the Mac laptop on your actual lap.

Interestingly, I didn’t notice the problem in the Apple store when I bought it, because the lids on their demo computers go way back. They told me that the lids on their demos go back further because they are old and loose and are played with so much. Then they told me they were going to charge me a 10% “restocking fee” to take back my computer.

$270.

“Wtf? The computer you sold me is different than the one on your display. And unfortunately the difference makes it unusable for me.”

Eventually the complied, but were really huffy and mean about it.

Anyway, now I’m back to an IBM laptop. Maybe I’ll wait to see if Apple fixes this problem in the future. Or maybe I’ll get a regular MacBook, instead of the “Pro” — they seem to go back further, but still not that far.

But to be honest, for the 12 hours I had the computer, I kept thinking “why am I doing this again? I already know how to do everything on my PC.”

Bleh.

19 Responses to “Macs are for short people”


  1. 1 ben October 31, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    Psh, I’m in year 2 of my Macbook Pro ownership. Never had a problem with the screen angle.

    Sure, I’m 5’11” and not 6’4″ but I think calling it a 90 degree angle is a little decieving…

  2. 2 Mike D October 31, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    Remember, your not actually supposed to use a “notebook” on your lap! Serious injuries may occur. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 Anonymous October 31, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Pud…fits.

  4. 4 Peter October 31, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Damn whiny tall people… ;^D

    Seriously, I’ve run into this, too. I’m only 5’11”, so in normal use it isn’t much of a problem. But with my old PowerBook G3, I used to be able to work on it while having it sit at weird angles in a Coach airplane seat. Nowadays, it needs to be sitting on the tray table.

    Of course, you shouldn’t be using your notebook computer in your lap anyway…

  5. 5 gev October 31, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    I’m with Ben…
    I may be 2″ shorter than you, but putting the screen all the way back on my MBP is too far.

  6. 6 Anonymous October 31, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    I can open my MacBook Pro *well* past 90 degrees — it looks to be almost as far as 135 degrees! (Basically about halfway between 90 and 180, that’s how far I can open it.)

  7. 7 Anonymous November 1, 2007 at 10:42 am

    I’m 6’4″ – use a mac laptop all the time and I do mostly graphic work and I haven’t had a problem with the screen. That being said – screw the mac/pc war and use whatever you feel most comforatble with.

  8. 8 Anonymous November 1, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    mac, ibm, dell – don’t matter to me. As llong as you can finish and launch f’ked company 2.0 and teh great red board ’tis all noize.

  9. 9 Anonymous November 1, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    My thinkpad goes about 185 degrees.

    thinkpad > macbook

  10. 10 mattw November 5, 2007 at 7:06 pm

    Be anti-hip and put a
    ONE LESS MAC sticker on your TP.

  11. 11 Ed November 7, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    I have a MacBook Pro and it opens to about 130 degrees. I love it. Although an amateur, I do a lot of helping other people with their computer problems, both Mac and PC, and I honestly don’t know how people can stand Windows.

  12. 12 Gavin November 9, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    I’ve been a Mac user for a little over 4 years now. I’m 19 and noth of my parents are 48. I just got a black macbook for university and already had an iMac. Ive turned my parents onto Mac and trust me if they can manage os x anyone can! And btw about 5 of my friends have macbook pros and never had any problems with them. Just bad luck I suppose. Hope it hasn’t put you off macs for good!

  13. 13 Grendel November 11, 2007 at 9:50 am

    I’m 6’4″ and most of my height is above the waist (so I’m essentially “taller” when sat down). My MacBook fits fine (not pro).

  14. 14 Partners in Grime November 12, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    They should have offered you $270 off one of their display models. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. 15 Anonymous November 15, 2007 at 5:18 pm

    I have 2 Mack book pro’s a new one and an old one. Both open well beyond 90 % I run Two linux variants and Windoz XP on it depending on what I am doing. I do most of my admin work and coding in OS X however. I don’t think it matters much what OS you use if you are comfortable with it.

    In my company we have a fair number of both MAC and Windows laptops. The screen angle is a non issue. You had a bad mac and I am seriously wondering about the store you went to. Something sounds out of place to me.

    I wold contact Apple care directly and let them know about your experience. I’ve had good luck with them.

    All the best,

    Ben_Looken

  16. 16 Anonymous November 20, 2007 at 2:57 am

    mac sucks. its “maximize” button has been broken for years, for most apps, even ones written by Apple.

    And it’s still broken.

  17. 17 Anonymous December 4, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Pro or not, Macs are not computers, like poodles are not dogs and veggie burgers are not burgers.

  18. 18 John Barnes lfc January 4, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    He should have been charged a 90% restocking fee for being a C0Ck

  19. 19 Anonymous February 14, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Why get a mac? IBM makes some nice laptops. I have known a lot of people who got macs “to be cool” and found out they are over priced and if something goes wrong apple just screws them on warranties etc.

    I had one friend who got an I-pod 2 weeks later it just died. He returned it and they tried to claim he had dropped it in water (he hadnt). Good thing he bought it with a credit card and had them fight it out.


Leave a Reply

