iPhone Review


Okay, I broke down and bought an iPhone. No, I didn’t wait in line. I was close to an Apple store (1 block from my office) and decided to walk over and check it out. When I got there, I just walked straight up to the counter and said, “do you have any iPhones in stock?” It was around 5:00 pm on Sunday.

Anyway, here is my review. Note that my old phone was a regular Samsung flip-phone.

Pros:

  • Web browsing is sick. I don’t use that term very often. But it is. The browser supports Javascript, Ajax, etc. Web pages do not look screwed up like they do on other mobile devices. No such as thing as “mobile sites” anymore — it’s just the Internet.
  • Email integration is awesome, though a friend of mine says Blackberry is better because bb downloads new mail while it’s in your pocket. The iPhone, on the other hand, downloads new mail when you check your mail, which means you have to wait a bit while it’s downloading. But it puts my Gmail and Exchange mail in one easy-to-use interface.
  • Apparently battery life is great (8 hours talk time, 10 days (!!) standby), though I’ve had mine for less than 24 hours so far, so I can’t judge
  • While not 3g or EVDO or whatever, web browsing seems fast enough. And it does a good job latching onto WiFi signals when present.
  • YouTube access is fun. Though it doesn’t yet have every youtube video.. just the ones they’ve converted to mpeg. Apparently the entire youtube library will be online by Fall.
  • Ipod interface is great. Flipping through album covers is fun and useful for finding those gems you haven’t listened to in a while…
  • Activation was easy
  • My new AT&T phone bill will be $20/month cheaper than my Verizon bill was, for roughly the same plan ($80/mo vs $100/mo)

Cons

  • 8gb is not a lot of music, relatively speaking. I had to do some serious pruning of my iTunes library to decide which albums to put on it.
  • It’s supposed to sync with my Outlook contacts and calendar, but I can’t get it to do either
  • The keyboard definitely takes some getting used to. Ask me again in a few weeks if I’ve gotten used to it…
  • wtf design oversight: The 1/8″ headphone jack is shaped in such a way that I can’t plug my fucking generic 1/8″ Radio Shack cable into it, to play music in my car. It’s hard to explain, but the female jack is inset, so the moulding of the cable can’t fit in there. And it’s not like it’s a weird cable or anything. I need to hack some plastic off the cable with a knife or something. This means it probably won’t work with certain headphones too. Maybe i’m missing something, like they want me to use an adapter or something. (the white earbuds it comes with have a little mic on the cable… which may mean it requires a different type of plug. but still, it should work with a regular stereo 1/8″ male. wtf). update: omg1 omg2
  • Friend of mine says the speakerphone sucks, and the phone gets hot. I haven’t actually made any calls with it yet.
  • It doesn’t have gps. My old phone has gps. But iPhone has pretty dope Google Maps so I guess that’s good enough.
  • It’s thin, but obviously bigger than my small cell phone. Probably bigger than most pda’s too.
  • It costs $600 + tax

There you have it.

In sum, while it has some problems and I’m sure the next version will be better, the web browsing capabilities alone are why it kicks my old phone’s ass. I think I’ll stick with it.

12 Responses to “iPhone Review”


  1. 1 Anonymous July 2, 2007 at 10:27 am

    You can set the phone to check email in the background automatically at specific intervals or use Yahoo Mail for push mail like the Blackberry.

  2. 2 Whitey July 2, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Thats great. I can’t wait for it to come to Canada.

  3. 3 Ken July 3, 2007 at 7:13 am

    thanks for that. your review is far more germane than the others I’ve read.

  4. 4 Dee July 4, 2007 at 9:13 am

    Oh ye of little faith never buy anything until theyve gone back to the drawing board and sorted out all the faults which havent shown up yet.

    Anyone remember the Ipod Nano version 1?

    Under no circumstances should anyone buy an Xbox 360 I made that mistake, I’ve learned now not to trust Bill but you cant really trust Steve either!

  5. 5 Anonymous July 6, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    Yet they put all the iPhone users on the slower network, not the EDGE network. 128k vs. 1mb network. That alone stopped me from buying one. I have the blackberry 8800 on the ATT EDGE network and it’s fast. However, fast versus style (in the iPod) is very tempting. I believe the iPhone is superior to this BB I have, but it just puzzles me to think they put all the iPhones on the slower ATT network.

  6. 6 Anonymous July 6, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    Pud,

    What happens when the battery dies and can’t be recharged?

  7. 7 Mike July 7, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    Hello,

    We would like to do an interview with you about your blog for
    http://www.BlogInterviewer.com . We’d like to give you the opportunity to
    give us some insight on the “person behind the blog.”

    It would just take a few minutes of your time. The interview form can
    be submitted online at http://bloginterviewer.com/submit-an-interview

    Best regards,

    Mike Thomas

  8. 8 Anonymous July 7, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    What’s wrong with the Xbox 360? It rocks, even if it breaks… thanks to the new 3 year retroactive warranty!

  9. 10 dee July 12, 2007 at 9:24 am

    Whats wrong with the 360?
    Whats right with it!

    When you get addicted to Call of Duty 2 it gets frustrating when you switch it on and get the red ring of death.

    If you make a product reliability should be one of your main points in its design that way it doesnt cost you $1bn a quarter theyve had like nearly 2 years to go back to the drawing board and get it right.

    I’m afraid they broke the psychological contract I entered
    into with them when I handed over my cash hence their ability to build brand loyalty with me has gone out of the window.

    Not to mention the rude people they have on the technical support lines.

    Gladly I wont have a problem with it anymore as I sold it on Ebay thank God.

  10. 11 Tom October 15, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    Get a bluetooth adapter like those made by itech. You can plug the output from the bt adapter into any headphone jack. The itech microphone is beyond crappy. I got pissed and ripped the thing out. Planning on sodering in a microphone jack to use a decent mike. Very good audio though as long as you are not in a noisy rf environment. This rig works for my Blackjack.

  11. 12 Tom October 15, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    To get decent audio out of any BT A2DP phone: Get a BT adapter like those made by Itech…you can plug any headphones in or plug it into anything else and use BT instead of wires. The Itech microphone is absolute crap. I got pissed and ripped it out. Planning on sodering in a microphone jack to replace it when I get the time. Sound is excellent as long as the RF environment is not too noisy. Works great on my BT A2DP enabled Blackjack-off with decent headphones.


Leave a Reply

