Life in general

Pud,

I’m a journalism major and I’m getting bored with school, work, the party life, and life in general. I’m thinking about writing a book to help pass the time.

I’ve written the first chapter and told a couple friends about my idea. The majority of them think I’m crazy.

What should I do?

Thanks,
Erik
20 years old
Reno, NV

Erik,

Sorry to be the one to break this to you… but as long as you’re being creative, taking risks, and making things happen, people will always think you’re crazy. It’s human nature.

I’ve started 6 businesses, sold 2, raised millions, wrote a best-selling book, mastered the drums (omg), and have done a lot of other things I’m proud of — many involving my penis.

And of course, I’m not exactly Bill Gates, and some of my businesses failed. But each of these things had one thing in common: people telling me “it’s a stupid idea” and that I should give up.

And sometimes they were right. But most of the time they weren’t.

There are two types of haters you’ll encounter.

  1. People who are jealous of your drive and possible success, and make themselves feel better by beating you down.
  2. People who are so conservative and afraid to take risks, that they just can’t understand your logic and figure there must be something wrong with you.

I’m not saying you should drop your friends, but you should try to surround yourself with like-minded peers — people who will think what you’re doing is awesome and will root for you.

I know that I’m rooting for you!

Pud

10 Responses to “Life in general”


  1. 1 J March 27, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Good advice.

  2. 2 Anonymous March 28, 2007 at 9:50 am

    It is silly that they think your crazy I mean it’s you major. I wouldn’t recomended dropping out of school but you should go for it.

  3. 3 Erik Stabile March 28, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    Thank You! I’m taking your advice and writing the rest of this damn book!

  4. 4 Anonymous March 28, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    Yeah, great advice, Pud.

    And here’s another thing – once you are successful, there’ll be very few people that you can talk about it with. It’s part of the whole jealousy thing and a lot of people will see it as “bragging”, so be prepared for that as well, lol.

    People are different though… I enjoy hearing about others having success – I find it inspirational and motivating. Rock on, y’all!

  5. 5 Anonymous March 29, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Writing a book isn’t crazy.

    Thinking you’re going to be one of the <100 professional authors in the US who support themselves writing fiction is FUCKING INSANE.

    You may very well be talented. You may very well be very good at it. You are still an outsider looking in, because you haven’t spent every weekend of the last thirty years at cocktail parties rubbing elbows with publishing industry insiders, buying them dinner and drinks, and laughing at their stupid jokes.

    The country is full of talented authors who wait tables, talented musicians who support themselves as office temps, and talented artists who mop floors for a living. The market isn’t big enough for all of them.

    As for going into business, it’s all well and good to talk about taking risks if you can go back to Mommy and Daddy and ask them to send you rent money if you fail. The rest of us have bills to pay every month, and the penalty for failure is sleeping in a cardboard box in a back alley.

  6. 6 Anonymous March 29, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    You shouldn’t be giving out advice, in my opinion.

    The only people who could relate to you are people whose parents are both lawyers.

    I mean, COME ON! Do you really think that YOU had ANYTHING to do with how far you’ve come in life?

    And of the 6 “businesses” you’ve started, how many were successes?

    NONE.

  7. 7 Anonymous March 29, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    pud, you teh man!!!!!!!!

    FC was amazin’, dude, amazin’.

    Rock On

  8. 8 Anonymous March 30, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Pud,

    So if youve raised millions, you got a fancy car collection like Jay Leno?

  9. 9 Anonymous March 30, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Dear Pud,

    Britepic is a smokin hot idea, no more right clicking to save images then upload as attachment and send to friend.

    Thats awesome dude.

  10. 10 http://xeoss.com/ March 31, 2007 at 9:07 am

    Hey,

    I was passing by and your site caught my eye :O)

    Nice blog !

    See you,
    Mark.


Leave a Reply

