Second break up

Pud,

I’ve liked this guy since 6th grade. We were together for four years but broke up cuz I went to a different school (only 40 minutes away).

I still love him, but a couple months ago I told him we were over.

How do i tell him that i want to get back together, without looking like the complete idiot that I am?

Abby
17 years old female
Wisconsin

Dear Abby, (heh)

You didn’t break up because of the other school. You broke up because you’d been dating since you were 13, and it’s time to move on.

You can just tell him you want to get back together. And he’ll be cool with it. But after a couple of weeks, you’ll remember just why you broke up with him in the first place, and you’ll be bored. And then you’ll feel really bad, and you’ll ask me how to break up with the same guy twice.

You could take my word for it, but you shouldn’t — it’s a lesson you need to learn on your own. So take him back.

Pud

4 Responses to “Second break up”


  1. 1 Anne January 24, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    Fantastic advice!!!

  2. 2 Anonymous January 25, 2007 at 12:40 am

    Coming from experience, I can tell you flat-out if it doesn’t work the first time, it’s not going to work the second.

    My previous girlfriend of almost 2 years and I had the most drawn-out breakup conceivable because of this type of situation.

    Believe me, there’s a reason you broke up with him to begin with. Right now you’ve just lost site of all of the bad things about a relationship, because you’re not in one. Take Pud’s advice: you’ll just get bored again.

    It’s only when you lose something you start to pay attention to the good in it. You’ll find someone else. You’re young.

    “Failure is the only opportunity to start again more intelligently.” -Henry Ford

  3. 3 Kate January 29, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    Abby, be strong! Move on! Lots of fish in sea, blah, blah, blah, but it’s true!

  4. 4 devin tomaney February 2, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    My first boyfriend broke up with me almost a year into the relationship, in class, on the day of my Grandfather’s funeral, and right before we went out with my friends for my depressing birthday dinner. I skipped the dinner and spent a week crying myself to sleep.

    We got back together a month and a half later. Then he broke up with me. Then we got back together. Then he broke up with me. and then we went to university and moved in together (with two bedrooms-crucial). and then we broke up.

    Was he a jerk? A fair amount of the time. Was it worth it? Sure. I learned a lot about myself and relationships. If I had to relive it, I probably wouldn’t have gotten back together with him that first time—but that doesn’t mean I’m going to regret any decision I made. Also, there were a lot of fun and romantic times.

    Long story short= do what you need to do.


Leave a Reply

