What, why?

Hi Pud,

I’m a single mom. I’ve got two kids with another on the way.

I need to get back on the right track, but I’ve got almost no support from my family. I want to go back in school, but I don’t even know where to begin. 😦

What’s your advice?

Anne
22 years old
California

Anne, Anne, Anne…

You’re a mess. But your life doesn’t have to be. You just need to find your passion, then you’ll have direction. “Going back to school” isn’t the answer.

Some people know what their passion is. Unfortunately, you do not. But I’m going to help you find it.

Here’s what you do:

Ask yourself, if you could do ANYTHING in the world, what would it be? What’s the ultimate fantasy that you’ll probably never actually achieve, but would be awesome? Rock star? Movie starlet? Teacher? Birthday party clown? Brad Pitt’s wife? That’s the “WHAT.”

Now ask yourself, “WHY?”

For example, my “WHAT” was “be a rock star heavy metal drummer!” Upon further analysis, my “WHY” was “I want to do something creative. I want freedom. I want to affect lots of people.”

As it turns out, there were about a million different more tangible things I could do, that would satisfy my “WHY.” That’s why I became a freelance web programmer: creativity, freedom, and the opportunity to reach the masses.

What’s your “WHAT?” What’s your “WHY?” You’ll be surprised how easy it is to satisfy your WHY, once you’ve figured out what it is.

Pud

ps- I’m still gonna be a famous heavy metal drummer. just you wait. 🙂

9 Responses to “What, why?”


  1. 1 Orhan Kahn January 12, 2007 at 5:32 am

    Aw, such helpful advice.

  2. 2 Wayne & Garth January 12, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    Who would have thought that a fucksnack like you would be so fucking brilliant.

    “We’re not worthy, we’re not worthy” …

  3. 3 Angie Weid January 12, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Finding your “WHY” is key to success and happiness. Why would I do what I do if it does not make me happy?

    Rock on!

  4. 4 Levois January 13, 2007 at 1:57 am

    This is profound.

  5. 5 Taylor January 13, 2007 at 2:57 am

    Stop making babies and maybe your dreams will come true.

  6. 6 ziffy womper January 14, 2007 at 4:19 am

    reality check!!! as a mom of four children, a persons passion can be farther to reach than ever when you cant even feed your babies. My advice would be to do something that you enjoy that does’nt conflict with being a single parent, (like being a teacher), life will hopefully be long and as I realized when I entered grad school, you can always get two masters degrees, but sometimes you have to meet an immediate need.
    good luck Anne, “time’s on your side.”

  7. 7 Anonymous January 14, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Why isn’t anyone saying what has to be said? That this dumb broad has screwed herself over for the rest of her life, and that she will never amount to anything.

    2 kids, a third on the way, no father and no means of financial support. And NOW she’s thinking about how she can be “all that she can be”.

    Anyone have a two-by-four I can borrow for about 5 seconds???

  8. 8 Birdie January 16, 2007 at 9:09 am

    That’s great advice. Sometimes you need to hike several mountains, have a few kids, get married, get divorced, eat success and failure for breakfast, dinner, before you know your Why. I know I did.

  9. 9 Bill D'Alessandro April 4, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    Pud, some really great advice, both for entrepreneurs and in general for people searching for direction.

    I’ve linked back to you over at my blog.

    http://www.billda.com/use-your-what-to-find-your-why


Leave a Reply

