Dream big, start small

Pud,

I follow your site and I love it. I’ve read a lot about your bold entrepreneurial moves and respect what you’ve done.

I have one question: What advice would you give to someone who is young, hungry and intelligent, looking to succeed in life and business?

Ryan
24 years old
San Francisco, CA

Ryan,

Thanks for the kind words.

You always hear people say “follow your dreams and you can accomplish whatever you want” — right? I know it sounds trite and cliche. And it is, but that’s because there’s one important thing missing.

The dream.

Most people don’t know what their dream is. Notice I didn’t say “most people don’t have a dream.” Everyone has a dream or a passion. But pulling it out is the hard part.

No longer. I’m gonna break it down for you. Here’s the secret:

AIM LOW.

Now I don’t mean don’t shoot for the stars. Dream big, but set a SMALL goal to get everything moving in the right direction. I’ll give you an example.

My goal when starting my first business, was “I want to throw away my alarm clock.” Specifically, I hated (and still do) waking up early every morning. I said to myself, “there’s gotta be a way to make the same amount of money I’m currently making, but wake up whenever I feel like it.”

I figured out that I could be a freelance programmer, working from home. If my clients called in the morning and I didn’t answer, they’d just think I was busy or at a meeting. The day I threw away my alarm clock was one of the happiest days of my life.

And guess what the side-effect was… I had a profitable, growing business.

One step at a time, in life and business.

Rock on,
Pud

7 Responses to “Dream big, start small”


  1. 1 Anonymous December 19, 2006 at 4:41 pm

    Dear Pud,

    Is it not the case though that you got rich off other peoples misery through Fucked Company?

  2. 2 Pud December 19, 2006 at 5:02 pm

    Sort of — I actually got rich before Fuckedcompany. At least, what I considered rich at the time.

  3. 3 Anonymous December 19, 2006 at 5:57 pm

    Fair play.

  4. 4 Anonymous December 20, 2006 at 5:53 pm

    Any business needs a way to collect payments… Pud, do you suggest getting a traditional merchant account, and if so, is there a company you’d recommend? What are your thoughts re: merchant accounts and payment collection? Thanks!

  5. 5 Anonymous December 20, 2006 at 7:09 pm

    Holy moly business needs a way to collect payment, your way ahead of your time my friend why dont you try telling them the price of the goods then holding out your hand and hey presto payment accepted.

  6. 6 Stigkl January 2, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Pud
    You hit it on the nail, have an aim, reach for the sky and never lay the battle down. Then dreams become reality and growth begins. I too threw my alarm clock away 2 years ago. hey presto.

  7. 7 CafeCram.com January 5, 2007 at 3:15 am

    Thanks for the fantastic advice Pud. Simple, candid, and from someone who’s done it.


Leave a Reply

