Quit smoking

Pud,

I want to quit smoking. I’ve been a smoker for over 20 years and it’s time.

Any advice?

Thanks,
Mike
35 years old
Washington, DC

Mike,

By asking this question, I assume you’re too weak to go cold-turkey. That’s fine — there’s another way.

You need to replace your smoking habit with another habit; preferably one that’s less harmful but still addictive. People most successful with this method generally take up running or exercise as a new addiction.

But something like food or masturbation addiction works too.

Pud

2 Responses to “Quit smoking”


  1. 1 Orhan Kahn December 18, 2006 at 8:32 pm

    I don’t mean to be a dick but I quit three years ago and still get cravings. Wish I’d never quit. Breathing isn’t what its all cracked up to be.

  2. 2 Le Renard December 23, 2006 at 7:33 pm

    First-I agree with orhan kahn. Quitting sucks, I wish I hadn’t. That said, the best way to do it is to get really sick for a few days, so you don’t smoke, and then be absolutly broke like a college student so you can’t buy more cigarettes. Or at least, that’s how I did it. I realize that isn’t exactly pragmatic for everyone, but if you have the means, I highly recommend it.


Leave a Reply

