Famous people

Pud,

Have you ever met a celebrity or someone famous before?

If so, what was your reaction?

Lily

Disclaimer: People who don’t know famous people are often jealous of people who do, and call them “name droppers” when they tell a story that happens to involve a famous person. One should only be considered a name-dropper if they talk about it incessantly. I’ll assume Lily asked this question because she wanted to know the answer, and not because she wanted to call me a name-dropper. That said, i’m not gonna drop a lot of names.

Lily,

I’m lucky that I know and have met lots of famous people.

Famous for what?

I assume you’re talking about entertainers. There’s a misconception with famous entertainers (actors, musicians) that you have to “play it cool.” That you’re gonna turn them off if you act impressed.

Not true.

Everyone likes feeling that their work is appreciated — especially entertainers who have lived their entire life trying to “be famous.” If you ever meet a celebrity, don’t be shy. Tell them they’re awesome, whether you are a nobody or you’re a superstar. After all, wouldn’t you think it were cool if someone said you were awesome? Would it turn you off, or turn you on?

The latter.

Here are a few pics:


Jamiroquai and me at my house


My favorite band Dream Theater


Lemmy from Motorhead


Lionel Richie (Nicole’s dad, for you young ones…)


Ron Jeremy (if you know who he is, wash your hand before shaking mine)


Interviewed by Sam Donaldson


Gene Simmons from KISS (and friends)


Carrie Strug, that olympic gymnast who broke her foot


Vince Neil from Motley Crue

10 Responses to “Famous people”


  1. 1 Anonymous November 18, 2006 at 9:40 am

    Who are these people? …err well apart from Ron of course.

  2. 2 Anonymous November 18, 2006 at 3:58 pm

    RON JEREMY?! I am so jealous.

  3. 3 Anonymous November 18, 2006 at 7:37 pm

    You are the fucking bomb

  4. 4 Orhan Kahn November 19, 2006 at 3:58 am

    I went to a VIP area of a world famous short film festival in my city once and fell over drunk on some local celebrity. She was a darling and broke my fall. Wonder why she didn’t give me her number.

    Also met Will Smith that night, he is a charming (and VERY tall) man who didn’t act as if he were famous at all.

  5. 5 Anonymous November 19, 2006 at 11:46 am

    (i don’t intend to leave critical comments in every single post, but i just couldn’t help myself here.)

    despite your attempted disclaimer, you are totally a name-dropper. you chose to answer this question out of the hundreds of questions you receive. it’s hardly the most interesting or the most pressing. so why did you choose it? to show off. and the pictures are an unnecessary flourish.

  6. 6 DJNewStyle November 20, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    The weekend of the superbowl I was in Vegas at the N9NE Steakhouse. A pretty trendy place with good food, blah blah blah. I’ve been there a few times and always see celebrities. I got a picture with Andrei Arlovski (UFC Heavyweight Champ) – and I thought it would be cool if I got another celebrity photo.

    This time around we saw OJ dressed in all black, obviously mourning the people that he killed. I got a picture with him and he fucking gripped my shoulder like it was a disobedient blonde wife’s throat. I’m guessing that if I pulled any funny business like making the “slit-throat” motion with my thumb – he would have murdered me instantly, finished his cocktail, and fucked a few more stupid white women. I’d say that asking about the wife and kids would offer similar results.

    As I mentioned before, I’ve been here a few times. One thing that I’ve noticed is that they make a big deal about handing you the steak knife. After the appetizer/salad a totally different guy comes over and greets you and hands you the steak knife. That’s all he does. He brings a knife and leaes. OJ was eating steak, making those familiar cutting motions.. someone had to go up to OJ and hand him a sharp steak knife. This is kind of like working at home depot and loading a nice new bath tub into Andrea Yates’s mini-van.

    Here’s the photo URL: http://myspace-981.vo.llnwd.net/00499/18/98/499828981_l.jpg

    Not getting murdered was the highlight of the trip, and I thought I’d share.

  7. 7 Anonymous November 20, 2006 at 2:12 pm

    Wow!! You’re almost as famous as that feller with the shrimp boat….

  8. 8 Anonymous November 20, 2006 at 6:47 pm

    Wow you got to meet JKay and Lemmy. I would love to meet those two, I love music. Nice. This blog is very good by the way, lots of interesting questions and answers.

  9. 9 kk kishore November 24, 2006 at 4:46 am

    dude,
    this is one of the coolest blogs i ‘ve seen …..

  10. 10 Anonymous November 26, 2006 at 8:35 am

    Hey Pud…
    Sorry i just can’t resist….. Damn you are cute!!

    Jaxi


Leave a Reply

