Best movie

Pud,

What’s the best movie ever?

Thanks,
Andrea

Dear Andrea,

Most people will say something like Casablanca, Citizen Cane, or Breakfast at Tiffany’s. If they’re trying to impress you they might say Dr. Strangelove (which took me 4 tries to watch all the way through without falling asleep).

But no one under 60 actually likes those movies — they just pretend to.

The actual answer is Pulp Fiction, followed by Boogie Nights and then Almost Famous.

E.T. was pretty good too.

Pud

11 Responses to “Best movie”


  1. 1 Anonymous November 16, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    Almost Famous? You left that one to get some controversy going, right? That movie was just fair. Mine, since you asked: Drama: The Red Violin (with Samuel “Snakes” Jackson), Comedy: Kingpin and Science Fiction: Back to the Future.

  2. 2 Anonymous November 16, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    I don’t know about you , pud but I’d put Mall Rats on that list as well

  3. 3 Anonymous November 16, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    Pud is right on. Pulp Fiction is the best movie in the world.

  4. 4 Suzanne Lanoue November 17, 2006 at 3:46 am

    Hi..just checking out your site from Blogger’s list.

    I hope you are not serious about those movies! I hated Boogie Nights (What an awful movie)
    and Almost Famous was SOOOOO SLOOOOOWWW. But these things are so subjective.

    I do love “Citizen Kane”, though…
    I know lots of people who love Casablanca, but frankly, by the time I watched it, I had heard all the good quotes, so it was like watching something that was derivative, even though it was the very thing that other people copied from so much.

    “Gone with the Wind” is another great old movie. I am only 45, not an old fogie, but I do love many old movies. But GTWT is the ultimate chick flick, so you may not like that one, either.

    I haven’t watched Pulp Fiction yet but mean to someday. I do love Tarantino. Have you seen “True Romance”? That is a great one.

    E.T. we can agree on! But it is over-rated.

    Stop by my blog sometime 🙂

    It is not letting me comment with my blogger id because of the new beta thing but my blog is at http://tvmeg.blogspot.com

    Suzanne Lanoue

  5. 5 Anonymous November 17, 2006 at 4:32 pm

    That was such an easy question, of course it’s Pulp Fiction but I have to agree with Suzanne, Boogie Nights is the worst film I have ever seen… and yes I have seen Battlefield Earth and Shanghai Surprise.

  6. 6 Anonymous November 18, 2006 at 11:28 am

    OMG, ET scared the SHIT out of me!! That little alien is so freaking scary, I dont even know why! Ever since I was little I’ve just been sooo afraid of him.

  7. 7 Alina November 21, 2006 at 11:32 am

    lock stock & 2 smoking barrels

  8. 8 devin tomaney November 23, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    My favourite part of Pulp Fiction was Mrs. Mia Wallace’s outfit in the restaurant scene.

    Also, Almost Famous is pretty fabulous.

  9. 9 Queenie November 25, 2006 at 3:54 am

    American Beauty

    Q

  10. 10 Mole November 25, 2006 at 9:51 am

    3 Greatest Movies

    1.) 2001: A Space Odyssey
    2.) Lawrence of Arabia
    3.) Battleship Potemkin

    Yes I am a nerd and proud of it, a Brit through and through, and still on the right side of 60 (for a few years yet). Pulp Fiction was OK, but Citizen Kane miles better. However, there are many other better films than that.

  11. 11 Anonymous November 26, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    There is no such thing as ‘a best movie ever’.

    Remember Einstein: all is relative 😉


Leave a Reply

