Almost famous

Dear Pud,

You’ve been kicking around quasi-internet celebrity status for quite a while now. Do you get recognized while out and about?

Thanks,
Tom

Hi Tom,

I don’t exactly have paparazzi following me around, but I am recognized from time to time. Here’s a memorable example.

It was a few years ago and I was on a first date at Coffee Shop in NYC.

The girl I was out with was great, but totally oblivious to anything Internet. We were probably talking about music or something (note: if the girl isn’t into computers, and you work with computers for a living, it makes for really boring conversation, so don’t do it.)

Anyway, we were sitting at a table chatting away when suddenly this frat-looking guy comes over to our table.

“Excuse me,” he says. “But I’m trying to settle a bet with my friends,” pointing back to a group of 3 or 4 other jocks.

“Yes?” I replied, totally thinking he’s gonna say something embarassing or stupid. It never enters into my mind that anyone would recognize me.

“Are you Pud?” he asks.

“Yes,” I smiled nonchalantly, all the while thinking “fuck yeah, now this chick thinks i’m famous!” Needless to say it vastly improved my game at that particular moment.

To answer your question, I’d say I get recognized by 2 strangers per month while out and about, not including Internet conferences and stuff like that. But it depends on how “out and about” I am, and in which city. Lots more people recognize me in San Francisco (where i live now) than in New York (where i lived 2 years ago).

More importantly, would you recognize me?

Pud

2 Responses to “Almost famous”


  1. 1 Anonymous November 19, 2006 at 1:08 pm

    I would totally recognize you. You’re quite distinct looking, in a good way. And I wouldnt just point and be like “Hey look! ITS PUD!” I’d like, come up and talk to you. Cause you seem really fucking cool. ❤


Leave a Reply

