Moving to San Francisco

Pud, I’m relocating to San Francisco to start work with Yahoo. I’m 24, straight, former frat boy and athlete looking to find a fun, vibrant neighborhood to call my new home. I want to live in the city since, well, suburbia is suburbia no matter where you are. What do you recommend? – nik

Nik,

If you’re looking for other 24 year old straight former frat boys, live in the “Marina” section of San Francisco (college equivalent: business majors). The problem is, you won’t get any dates. Why? Because Marina girls only date older, richer guys who live in Pacific Heights (nearby to the Marina). But you can’t afford Pacific Heights. So if you live in the Marina you’ll have plenty of single buddies, but that’s it.

Now if you’re interested in meeting girls, live in the Mission (college equivalent: Art majors) . You won’t fit in with the guys there, so you won’t make any friends. But there are enough Mission girls with frat guy fetish that you’ll do fine.

Rock on,
pud

4 Responses to “Moving to San Francisco”


  1. 1 Joanie July 5, 2006 at 2:23 pm

    Yup, gotta agree with you on where to live. I recently lived in the Marina and although I am a happily married, 35-ish woman, I came across very happy and handsome 24 yr old frat boys mingling amongst themselves wondering why women in the Marina only were looking for Porsche driving,money bag Pacific Heights men (many whom were much older than 24yrs old). The Marina is a great place to live, but be ready to pay for the area -my husband and I moved out and came back to Seattle after realizing we couldn’t afford to buy a 1.5 million dollar flat there!

  2. 2 Joanie July 5, 2006 at 2:28 pm

    Pud, gotta agree with you on the Marina thing. I recently lived there and loved it, however, never have I lived anywhere where there were so many frat boys and label-driven women in my life! I am a happily married 35-ish woman and my husband and I felt very old compared to the young things living in the area. We just moved back to the Seattle area for my hubby’s job but miss the Marina area a lot! I admit, however, that we do not miss the high cost of rent.Nik,get ready to pay if ya wanna play. Did I mention to buy a 1 bedroom flat in the Marina starts at 1.25 million? Is Yahoo paying you enough? Good luck!

  3. 3 Joanie July 5, 2006 at 2:34 pm

    Marina is a great area – close to the beach, public transportation, shopping, bars, restaurants, etc. Also, the most beautiful people live there especially the frat boys and snooty girls. I lived there recently and loved it but I felt my hubby and I were the oldest people in our building ( we r in r mid-30’s).I hope Yahoo is paying you well, Nik, ’cause rents are the most expensive in the Marina area. If you wanna buy a 1-2 bedroom flat, prices start at 1.25 million in the Marina area. Maybe u should find a rich Pacific Heights trust fund babe to marry…

  4. 4 joanie July 11, 2006 at 12:07 am

    yup, gotta agree with you there. I fucked up and posted like 5 times and still have no clue.


Leave a Reply

